Local Wood Challenge (LWC)

To cope with the new regulations of international trade and the overexploitation of tropical woods, the Salon de la Belle Guitare - in collaboration with associations APLG, EGB, LGRP and CSFI - presents for the third time at Guitares au Beffroi the project The Local Wood Challenge !

 

The Concept

A guitar made of 100% local woods1 : This is what each participating exhibitor will have achieved. This instrument will be identified on the luthier's stand by a tag representing the LWC tree (see logo opposite). The "Local Wood Challenge" conference on Saturday, March 24 at 11:30 am will bring together all these guitars. Pre-show promotion will advertise this special presentation to the media and public, inviting them to attend the conference, where each instrument will be presented individually.

We also invite makers to come and introduce other materials such as plants (bamboo), composite materials already used mainly for fingerboards, bridges and headplates (Richlite, Blackwood tek, Rocklite etc.) or any initiative that allows replacement of tropical timber with alternative solutions which are not exploiting natural resources.

The EGB, APLG, LGRP and CSFI associations will jointly set up a "Local Wood Challenge" stand. It will be curated by Jacky Walreat (LGRP) and will present different guitars already made with local woods. The LWC guitars made by the participants will also be exhibited alternately at their respective stands at times, rotating them between their maker’s stand and the LWC one.

Exhibitors participating in the LWC will be marked in the show plan for easy recognition and location by the visitors.

 

First Experiences

Leornado Research Guitar Project – Test with local wood and tropical wood

The Local Wood Challenge (LWC) was created for the Holy Grail Guitar Show 2016 by the European Guitar Builders association (EGB) who organize this show in Berlin each year.

What must the exhibitor do ?

Before anything else and in order to obtain the LWC tag to be placed on your stand, it is necessary to register the LWC guitar (s) on the website of the EGB association, who are the founders of this project:

http://www.europeanguitarbuilders.com/lwc-instrument-registration-form/

Participation is voluntary and free, subject to correctly providing all required data collected during registration. For more information: contact Tania Spalt (email in the page link above).

Some local materials used in the manufacture of acoustic guitars as part of the Leonardo Guitar Research Project:

Backs and sides: Beech, Birch, Ash, Chestnut, Plane, Alder, Cherry, French Walnut, Poplar, Black Locust (robinia pseudoacacia) Rowan(sorbus aucuparia), Boxwood, Oak, 
Fingerboards and bridges: Yew (taxus baccata), Service Tree (sorbus domestica, other English names include Sorb Tree and Whitty Pear) , Plum (prunus domestica) Boxwood (buxus sempervirens), Black Locust (robinia pseudoacacia), Lilac (syringa vulgaris), Golden chain (laburnum)
For further informations, contact us at :
carbonneauxjacques(a)gmail.com

Facebook
en_GBEnglish
fr_FRFrench en_GBEnglish

Local Wood Challenge (LWC)

 

Dans un effort éthique de conscientisation quant à la surexploitation des essences tropicales, et les changements de régulation du commerce international qui en découlent, le Salon de la Belle Guitare – en collaboration avec l’APLG, EGB, LGRP et CSFI – présente pour la troisième fois à Guitares au Beffroi le projet Local Wood Challenge !

 

Concept

Une guitare constituée à 100% de bois locaux : C’est ce qu’aura réalisé chaque exposant fabricant volontaire du salon. Cet instrument sera identifié sur le stand du luthier par une étiquette représentant le logo LWC. La conférence “Local Wood Challenge” du samedi 24 mars à 11h30 sera là pour exposer toutes ces guitares. Elles y seront présentées individuellement et une communication particulière sera effectuée auprès de la presse et du grand public guitariste.

Nous invitons en outre les fabricants à venir nous présenter d’autres matériaux comme des plantes (bambou), des matériaux composites déjà utilisés surtout pour les touches, chevalets et placage de tête (richlite, blackwood tek, etc..) ou toute initiative qui permet de substituer au bois tropicaux des solutions moins sensibles du point de vue de leur exploitation.

Les associations EGB, APLG, LGRP et CSFI mettront conjointement en place un stand “Local Wood Challenge”. Il sera tenu par Jacky Walraet (LGRP) et présentera différentes guitares déjà réalisées avec des bois non tropicaux. Les guitares LWC réalisées par les participants y seront également exposées en alternance avec leurs stands respectifs.

Un plan du salon mentionnera et localisera plus spécialement tous les stands de luthiers exposants une guitare LWC afin que le public puisse les repérer facilement.

 

Les premières expériences

Leornado Research Guitar Project – Test de guitares avec bois tropicaux et bois non tropicaux
Le Local Wood Challenge a été un grand succès présenté aux médias par les exposants au The Holy Grail Guitar Show 2016.

 

Que doit faire l’exposant ?

Avant toute chose et pour obtenir l’étiquette LWC qui ser placer sur votre stand, il est nécessaire d’enregistrer le ou les guitares LWC sur le site de l’association EGB qui est à l’initiative de ce projet à l’adresse suivante :

http://www.europeanguitarbuilders.com/lwc-instrument-registration-form/

La participation est libre et gratuite, sous réserve de renseigner en toute conscience la totalité des données collectées à l’inscription. Pour information complémentaire : contacter Tania Spalt (email dans page lien ci-dessus).

Voici quelques essences locales utilisées en lutherie guitare acoustique dans le cadre du projet Léonardo Guitar Research Project :

Dos et éclisses : platane, chêne, hêtre, robinier, frêne, aulne, noyer, érable, châtaigner, cerisier, orme.
Manche : platane, hêtre, frêne, aulne, noyer, érable, châtaigner, cerisier, orme.
Touche : pommier, robinier, if, cormier, prunier, platane, hêtre, frêne, aulne, noyer, érable, poirier, cytisse faux ébénier, bouleau, lilas.
Chevalet : pommier, robinier, if, prunier, noyer, érable, poirier, cerise, cytisse faux ébénier, chêne, orme, lilas.

PARTENAIRES

Partenaires du festival

 

COMMENT NOUS CONTACTER

Contacts

Facebook
fr_FRFrench
en_GBEnglish fr_FRFrench